Madison County prepares for municipal elections


BOZEMAN, Mont. - Madison County election officials are getting ready for the November 5 municipal elections.

NBC Montana received the sample ballots Tuesday. Here is a breakdown of the races in each of the towns.

In Virginia City, all five town commissioner spots are up for election.

Voters will choose two, two year unexpired term town commissioners. Two former commissioners- Ron Rockwell and Billy Doyle- resigned during their terms, leaving the seats open for this election.

Candidates running for that seat include current Mayor Robert L. Erdall, Justin Gatewood and Barbara L. Smith.

Virginia City voters will choose three, four year term town commissioners. Candidates running for those seats are: Janet L. Allestad, David R. Bacon, Erin Leonard, Lois C. Yenny, and current commissioners James Dschaak, Scott Kelley and Scott Petersen. Commissioner John Benedict is not seeking reelection.

After the elections, the new commission will appoint one of the elected commissioners to be the new mayor of Virginia City.

In the town of Sheridan voters will choose between incumbent Mayor Dean Derryberry and Michael Laurin. Two people are running for the two four year terms on the Sheridan town council. They are Paul R. Kramer and Mark McLaughlin.

In Twin Bridges, Mayor Thomas O. Hyndman is running opposed and three people are running for the three four year terms on the town council. Candidates for town council are David Albert Banks Jr., Matthew Greemore and David Smith.

The fourth and final municipal race in Madison County is in Ennis. Three people are vying for mayor. Candidates for mayor are Audra Bourk, Brandi Palmerton and Becky Vujovich. Current mayor Pat Clancey is not running. Voters will choose two of the three candidates running for the the two four terms on the town commission. Candidates for those two seats are Alinon Arpin, David J. Mackenzie and Brian Vincent.

All seats in the Madison County municipal elections are non-partisan.

The election is being held by mail in ballot. All ballots are due back Tuesday November 5.