Baker, Gustafson win Supreme Court terms, new clerk elected

Helena Capitol

Voters returned a pair of incumbents to Montana's Supreme Court and elected a former head of the state Republican Party as the high court's clerk.

Justice Beth Baker was granted a second eight-year term after running unopposed.

Justice Ingrid Gustafson also ran unopposed. She retains a seat she's held since Democratic Gov. Steve Bullock appointed her to fill the position of former Justice Mike Wheat, who retired at the end of last year.

Gustafson will serve until Wheat's term expires in 2023.

Former Montana Republican Party Executive Director Bowen Greenwood prevailed in the Supreme Court clerk's race as Ed Smith vacates the post after 30 years.

Greewood beat Democrat Rex Renk, Smith's longtime deputy, and will serve a six-year term.

The clerk's office handles case filings for the state's highest court.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off